Who is accountable here!?

Who are you accountable to? A boss? A co-worker? A spouse or a child? There are a myriad of people, and  things, we are accountable to, and for, at any given moment of any day.

Whether it is a deadline that must be met, a meeting we cannot miss or an anniversary or birthday present we must not forget to get, we find ourselves being held accountable all the time.  But is that the accountability I want to discuss here? No. Simply, I want to discuss something I have recently come to understand myself; that first and foremost, we must be accountable to ourselves.

We have to take a look in the mirror, and decide if we are happy with ourselves and the decisions we have been making. And if we find we are not entirely happy about everything, why? What about whatever event is it that makes us unhappy? I believe we ultimately are not happy because there isn’t true closure with whatever happened, and this is because we didn’t hold ourselves accountable. I feel this way because I used to blame or hold others accountable for my demises . That way I made it seem in my own mind the situation or its result wasn’t my fault. I am wrong. Wrong. Wrong. And in case I forgot to say it, WRONG!

As I grow and develop my leadership skills, I am realizing just how much about me I really don’t know. And I am coming to understand that before I can truly lead, I need to find that stuff out! Part of the journey I am currently embarking on has already helped me to see that I have been fooling myself. As intelligent as others say I am it is quite obvious to me now that I have been completely ignorant to who I am. But, like they say, in order to  help someone, they have to want to help themselves. Whether drugs, alcohol, hoarding or in blaming others, there is an addiction, a habit that has to be changed.

To be a strong leader, one of the qualities I have always touted, was accountability. Now, knowing that accountability starts with me, I can own that trait, and feel confident that  by sustaining accountability to myself, I am thriving, and truly developing into someone I can love again.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Leadership, Life

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,244 other followers

What I am reading
Justin Buck

Servant.

Lead With Giants

Thoughts on Leadership

Leading with Trust

Trust is the essential ingredient for leadership success.

Wear Consulting Ltd

Thanks for visiting!

Alli Polin | Break The Frame

Thoughts on Leadership

In Irons

An inspirational devotional style blog offering encouragement and guidance to job seekers and people in career transition.

gillardp

Just another WordPress.com site

The Happsters

Spread Positive Vibes. Give Love. Be Happy.

Gusto Coaching

helping top executives go from good to great through INSPIRATION - MOTIVATION - GROWTH

Lolly Daskal

Thoughts on Leadership

Blanchard LeaderChat

A Forum to Discuss Leadership and Management Issues

Princess Politics

A royal dose of everything politics, current events and the good life on the right.

Watching Out For You

Watching the world, so you don't have to.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

